Difference between revisions of "Iwx"

From Mibbit Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(clean up, added orphan tag)
m (Categories, again.)
 
(3 intermediate revisions by 2 users not shown)
Line 15: Line 15:
  
 
==Mode +i==
 
==Mode +i==
User mode +i means, that the channels you are in, are "invisable" to other users that issue the '''/whois YourNick''' command, under some conditions.
+
User mode +i means that the channels you are in are "invisible" to other non-administrator users that issue the '''/whois YourNick''' command.
 
*If you issue the '''/whois YourNick''' command on yourself, you are always listed.
 
*If you issue the '''/whois YourNick''' command on yourself, you are always listed.
 
*If you and the other user are in the same channel, you are always listed.
 
*If you and the other user are in the same channel, you are always listed.
*If you are in a different channel that the other user,
+
*If you are in a different channel than the other user,
 
**and if the channel you are in ''is not'' '''channel mode +s''' then the other user can see that you are in that other channel.
 
**and if the channel you are in ''is not'' '''channel mode +s''' then the other user can see that you are in that other channel.
**and if the channel you are in has '''channel mode +s''' then the other user can not see that you are in that other channel.
+
**If the channel you are in has '''channel mode +s''' then the other user can not see that you are in that other channel.
 
***You can issue the command '''/mode #TheChannel''' and see if '''s''' is in the list. It is Case Sensitive.
 
***You can issue the command '''/mode #TheChannel''' and see if '''s''' is in the list. It is Case Sensitive.
 
***If you are an OP of that channel, you can issue the command '''/mode #TheChannel +s''' and set '''+s'''. It is Case Sensitive.
 
***If you are an OP of that channel, you can issue the command '''/mode #TheChannel +s''' and set '''+s'''. It is Case Sensitive.
*If you '''really''' want to turn off this privacy protection, you would issue the command '''/mode YourNick -i'''.
+
*If you wish to disable this privacy protection, issue the command '''/mode YourNick -i'''.  We don't recommend that you disable it, however.
  
 
==Mode +w==
 
==Mode +w==
User mode +w means, that you can see network status messages called '''wallops'''. These are messages that the system and/or staff (Opers) considers important, such as a pending service downtime.
+
User mode +w means that you can see network status messages called '''wallops'''. These are messages that the system and/or staff (Opers) considers important, such as a pending service downtime.
*If you want to turn off this notification, you would issue the command '''/mode YourNick -w'''.
+
*To disable this notification, issue the command '''/mode YourNick -w'''.
  
 
==Mode +x==
 
==Mode +x==
User mode +x means, that your IP/Host address is masked so that other users can not get your full IP/Host. This is also called a cloak.
+
User mode +x means that your IP/Host address is masked so that other users can not get your full IP/Host. This is also called a cloak.
*If you issue the '''/whois YourNick''' command on yourself, your IP/Host is always visiabe.
+
*If you issue the '''/whois YourNick''' command on yourself, your IP/Host is always visible.
*For IP addresses, this is shown as (for example) "287AB38E.50E33866.F91BE320.IP". This is a hash generated by our IRCd, and no user can decode it.
+
*For IP addresses, this is shown as (for example) "<tt>287AB38E.50E33866.F91BE320.IP</tt>". This is a hash generated by our [[IRCd]], and no user can decode it.
*For Host names, this is shown as (for example) "mib-11DE075.hst16.fg.comcast.net". This is a hash generated by our IRCd, and no user can decode it.  
+
*For Host names, this is shown as (for example) "<tt>mib-11DE075.hst16.fg.comcast.net</tt>". This is a hash generated by our IRCd, and no user can decode it.  
 
*If you '''really''' want to turn off this privacy protection, you would issue the command '''/mode YourNick -x'''.
 
*If you '''really''' want to turn off this privacy protection, you would issue the command '''/mode YourNick -x'''.
  
Line 41: Line 41:
  
 
UnrealIRCD User and Oper commands [http://www.unrealircd.com/files/docs/unreal32docs.html#useropercommands]
 
UnrealIRCD User and Oper commands [http://www.unrealircd.com/files/docs/unreal32docs.html#useropercommands]
[[Category:Commands]][[Category:How To]][[Category:IRC]]
+
[[Category:Mode]][[Category:IRC]]

Latest revision as of 05:35, 26 April 2010


What does +iwx mean?[edit]

Every time I connect, I see this:

+++ YourNick set to mode +iwx
* YourNick sets mode: +iwx

And other variations on the theme.

This is the default mode applied to every user on connect to the irc.mibbit.net network.

Other networks may have slightly different defaults.

Mode +i[edit]

User mode +i means that the channels you are in are "invisible" to other non-administrator users that issue the /whois YourNick command.

  • If you issue the /whois YourNick command on yourself, you are always listed.
  • If you and the other user are in the same channel, you are always listed.
  • If you are in a different channel than the other user,
    • and if the channel you are in is not channel mode +s then the other user can see that you are in that other channel.
    • If the channel you are in has channel mode +s then the other user can not see that you are in that other channel.
      • You can issue the command /mode #TheChannel and see if s is in the list. It is Case Sensitive.
      • If you are an OP of that channel, you can issue the command /mode #TheChannel +s and set +s. It is Case Sensitive.
  • If you wish to disable this privacy protection, issue the command /mode YourNick -i. We don't recommend that you disable it, however.

Mode +w[edit]

User mode +w means that you can see network status messages called wallops. These are messages that the system and/or staff (Opers) considers important, such as a pending service downtime.

  • To disable this notification, issue the command /mode YourNick -w.

Mode +x[edit]

User mode +x means that your IP/Host address is masked so that other users can not get your full IP/Host. This is also called a cloak.

  • If you issue the /whois YourNick command on yourself, your IP/Host is always visible.
  • For IP addresses, this is shown as (for example) "287AB38E.50E33866.F91BE320.IP". This is a hash generated by our IRCd, and no user can decode it.
  • For Host names, this is shown as (for example) "mib-11DE075.hst16.fg.comcast.net". This is a hash generated by our IRCd, and no user can decode it.
  • If you really want to turn off this privacy protection, you would issue the command /mode YourNick -x.

References[edit]

UnrealIRCD User and Channel modes [1]

UnrealIRCD User and Oper commands [2]